How to Delete Snapchat Account

What was seen as something very different from other social platforms? Snapchat was revolutionising instant messengers.

Either you, or your friend’s snaps, chats, story, last for a few seconds. It was seen as a breath of fresh air in comparison to the continual data breaches of the likes of FB and others.

However, under the surface, things are very different, and there are issues with privacy, and this has led to countless thousands wanting to delete a Snapchat account.

Snapchat Privacy and Security Policy

Here, we will show not just how to delete a Snapchat account, but why you should and how you can enforce online security for any other possible weak areas you may have.

Privacy Concerns in Snapchat

When Snapchat said they were taking snaps, chats, story, device data, and making them vanish, it was leading users to assume they were safe in the social media platforms hands.

While this was happening, and in theory, they were being successful in what they were doing; however, there are apps available in the app store that can take screenshots from the Snapchat app.

Even now, the company is still trying to get rid of these. Another area was that a user’s location data was unfortunately broadcast without them knowing.

Couple this with smartphone address books being accessed, and the clean image Snapchat was portraying, was quickly being tarred with a very dirty brush.

Snapchat made a settlement with the FTC, and they are on probation for the next 20 years. It was in response to the four million-plus Snapchat usernames and phone numbers which fell into the wrong hands.

Privacy Settings in the Snapchat App

In case you are not aware, you don’t have to delete Snapchat account permanently if you only want to take a break. It is possible for you to have it deactivated for 30 days, and then it will vanish.

Before doing this, check your security settings are up to scratch. Tap on your profile image in the top left, then tap the gear icon.

Head down the page to additional settings and then ‘Manage.’

Contact me, view my story, see my location and See me in Quick add can all have settings changed to make them safer or less visible.

You can also change your ad preferences. You do this because Snapchat forces ads on you based on your use of the app.

If you think you can’t simply delete the app, and your account is gone, it won’t be, you won’t have a means of accessing it.

Deleting Snapchat Account Permanently

How to Delete a Snapchat Account

Snapchat accounts can be deleted by deactivating them, and not accessing them in the next 30-days.

It does seem to be quick to do so, and they claim all your data will vanish from the main user database.

When you learn how to delete your account, you will find this isn’t as true as they make out. Some information is retained for legal business requirements.

Before you take a look at how to delete Snapchat account, here is their privacy policy.

  • Any information you make available
  • The information gained by Snapchat during use – location, logs, etc.
  • Third-party information: Advertisers, user contact information and third-party apps that link

Or in plain terms, they can use any information they store in any way they see fit.

Deleting Your Account on Permanently

To begin deleting your Snapchat account, or how to deactivate Snapchat you need to head to the accounts page. One other thing to note is you can’t do this in the app, and it does need deleting your account in a web browser to permanently delete your account.

  1. Navigate to accounts.snapchat.com in your browser of choice. This takes you to the accounts portal. You may have to check the box to prove you are not a robot.
  2. Next, enter your username and password
  3. On the next page, click Delete my Account
  4. Enter your username and tap log in a second time
  5. Press on continue and Snapchat will now deactivate your Snapchat account. Once you reach this time, then it will be permanently deleted.
  6. You will see a message saying your account will be deactivated soon. If you have a verified email address with Snapchat, they will send a confirmation once they delete your account.

If you have any friends, you will not be able to contact or interact with them. Besides, chats, story, device data will not be available to them, unless you decide to reactivate your Snapchat account.

If you change your mind and access your account within 30 days, you will need to enter your Snapchat username instead of the regular details you use.

Before you delete or deactivate your account, and lose access to settings, friends, snaps chats and everything else.

You can download all your story, device data before everything on the database will be deleted.

Snapchat does need a valid email address and password so you can download your device data from the user database.

  1. Log in to your account at accounts.snapchat.com
  2. Click on my data
  3. Submit request
  4. You will receive a confirmation email when your download is ready

There is no way to do this after your account is deactivated because once they delete your account permanently after the given amount of time.

You would have to create a new account, and then you would need to start again as you deactivated your friends when you close your account for good.

Making Yourself Secure Online

It doesn’t matter if you deactivate your account, or click on delete to get rid of it forever. There are countless other areas online where you need more privacy.

To delete Snapchat is just the start, but you can think of using a VPN service. You can stop anyone tracking you around the internet with the best UK VPN is ExpressVPN.

The service will keep your identity and location safe and secure, so even if you continue with Snapchat, they won’t be able to broadcast your whereabouts.

Want more privacy?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *