How to Delete Twitter Account

In some cases, Twitter can be informative and useful. It allows you to connect with the outside world. However, it has a tendency to bring out the bad in people, and what should be a regular discussion spirals downward.

Here, you can learn how to deactivate your account if you want a break from all your social media interaction.

Or you can as easily, find out how to delete Twitter account if you have had enough, and know there is no going back.

deleting your Twitter account

 

After a look at different aspects of Twitter, you can see how to start deleting your Twitter account and be free from all your social networks.

Twitter Privacy and How You are Exposed

Twitter may not openly breach user privacy, but like many other social platforms, they are not squeaky clean either. Here are some of the areas they collect and use data of their users.

Account details: Email, name, address, tel number and passwords are recorded

Payment details: If you pay any service owned by Twitter, they do record these transactions and your payment details. You can ask for these to be deleted if you wish.

Locations: Wherever you tweet from, these locations are recorded. They can easily build up a movement profile and see where you commonly visit.

Contact Details: Users who synch there address or contacts with Twitter will be giving the company details of everyone they know.

Links and Cookies: Twitter uses cookies to keep a record of how users interact with their service. It can comprise device and operating system and browser used among much more.

How to Close a Twitter Account on a Desktop

  1. On the Twitter website sign in to your account
  2. Click on ‘More’ and then select ‘Settings and Privacy.’
  3. Once in your account section, click deactivate account
  4. Now, click ‘Deactivate.’
  5. When prompted ‘enter your password.’
  6. On the next prompt, click ‘deactivate account.’

Permanently Delete Twitter Account on Android Devices

  1. Tap either the hamburger menu or your profile picture toward the top of your devices screen
  2. Head to Settings and Privacy page and click, then tap on the account
  3. Tap the Deactivate Your Account option
  4. Select deactivate
  5. Enter password and click deactivate when asked to do so
  6. Tap on ‘YES’ to deactivate

Deleting Your Account on iOS Devices

  1. Click on your profile picture toward the top of the screen
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the menu
  3. Select Settings and Privacy page and click deactivate ‘Your Account.’
  4. Tap on Deactivate and enter your Twitter password when asked
  5. Tap deactivate again and continue by tapping on ‘YES’ deactivate my account

steps for various devices to deactivate or delete Twitter

Permanently Delete Twitter Account or Deactivate Temporarily

All the above are the simple steps for various devices to deactivate Twitter.

However, once you get to the end of any of the procedures and tap deactivate. That isn’t the end of your Twitter account for good right there.

All your data is retained for a further 30-day period. Once you reach this, then Twitter starts to clear all your information from their servers.

If you attempt to log back in, you will reactivate your account by doing so. If you do this, you need to go through the steps above and do another Twitter deactivate, before deleting your account.

One thing to note is Twitter states they don’t have any control over search engines that can cache
your data. Because of this, you can find parts of your Twitter profile floating around other parts of the internet.

Besides, if you are going to delete Twitter, and create a new account inside the grace period, you need to use another email address.

Archiving Your Twitter

You may wish to download your information from Twitter before you permanently delete the Twitter app. Here are the steps to do so.

  1. Head to twitter.com and log in with your account details
  2. In the top-right of your browser, click on your profile pic followed by “Settings/ Privacy.”
  3. Head to the bottom of the page and click “Request archive.”
  4. Twitter notifies you it has received a request and sends a confirmation email when your archive ready for download.
  5. Follow the link in the email to download your Twitter archive.

Twitter and Internet Privacy

When you begin to understand much of the things Twitter do with user interaction, is to target ads, or pass this information on to their parties. It is clear why there are so many individuals wanting to jump ship.

In the right case, Twitter can be an OK platform, so before you delete Twitter altogether, you can take the opportunity to use the Twitter deactivate period to tighten up on your internet privacy.

The best way to do this by far is to make full use of a VPN. With these, not only is all your data encrypted, and out of sight from anyone as it heads off to become a tweet, you will be spoofing your location, so Twitter can’t pinpoint your location.

Because of this, you can tweet from anywhere, and the social platform won’t be able to see where you are, or where you are going.

Doing this alone can prevent many targeted ads, if not restricting your movements being used for marketing purposes.

There are many VPN’s around, yet when you come to choose the best VPN service for Twitter, it is evident which one is going to stand out.

Using military-grade encryption, a kill switch, and many other security features, you can use the 30-day money-back guarantee from Express VPN, and check how secure it is by carrying out a leak test.

You may still decide to dump Twitter in the end, yet you may decide to keep the best Twitter VPN to beef up your online security.

Want more privacy? Learn how to delete Instagram

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Leave a Reply:

By using this website you agree to accept our Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions